8 Pouni students honoured for excelling in sports


JAMMU, May 29: Eight students, selected by the school management on basis of their achievements at the district and state level, were presented with special gifts by the visiting resource person guide, who held a top post of Joint Secretary with the autonomous sports body of J&K State Sports Council (JKSSC).

In yet another visit to the rural school of Government Higher Secondary School, Pouni in district Reasi, social activist and sports promoter, Shiv Kumar Sharma motivated hundreds of rural students in the special assembly while felicitating eight of them for excelling in different sports disciplines.

Students honoured were Parampreat Singh, Nisha Devi ( both Volleyball), Deepak Sharma (Athletics-High Jump), Ankush Kumar, Arfana Akhtar, Kulsoom Banoo, Rachana and Rohini (all Wrestling).

While speaking to the gathering of students, Shiv Kumar, who is also president of the Senior Citizens’ Forum Katra, urged the parents of talented sportspersons to expose their wards to advance training in the hands of those technically sound individuals. He quoted examples of those outstanding sportspersons from the state who have achieved a lot. Among these examples were footballer, Arun Malhotra (executive with ONGC), Wrestler, Dushyant Sharma (SSP J&K Police), Cricketer, Surinder Singh Bagal (Inspector with Excise Department) and young Chess player, Meenal Gupta (international medalist).

Shiv Kumar also sensitized the students about the prevailing drug menace. Earlier, Principal of the school, Inderjeet Kour welcomed Shiv Kumar Sharma and another distinguished gathering of parents and prominent people of the area. She termed the special lecture on sports as need of the hour.

The proceeding was conducted by retired lecturer, Jeet Ram while vote of thanks extended by Vice Principal of school, Rangil Singh.

Prominent among those present were Sarpanches, Parkash Singh, Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, Suraj Kumar, Sushma Devi, Sunita Devi, Neelam Devi, Subedar Major (Retd.), R.P Sharma, Ajay Seth (general secretary BJP, Pouni Mandal), Mohinder Lal Sharma, (Panch), Rakesh Sharma (Panch) Balvindwer Singh (Naib Sarpanch) Ram Lal, Surinder Singh, Sanjeev Sharma and Devinder Abrol.