It’s a victory of India, victory of democracy, says PM


NEW DELHI, MAY 23: As per the latest data from the Election Commission, the BJP is leading in 300 seats while the Congress is trailing far behind with 50.

Riding on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s popularity and surging high on the nationalism wave, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stormed to power with a bigger mandate. As per the latest data from the Election Commission of India (ECI), the saffron party won as many as 303 seats while the Congress is trailing far behind with 84.

On the contrary, the Congress’ strategy to pose a formidable challenge to BJP has come as a cropper. It failed to carry forward the momentum gained during its recent victories in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh Assembly polls. The only silver lining in the bleak scenario for Congress is that it fared better in Punjab and Kerala. The full results of the seven-phase elections are expected to be officially declared only late evening.

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, in a tweet, accepted the verdict of the people of India and congratulated Modi-led NDA on their victory.

DP president and former Jammu and Kashmir Chief minister Mehbooba Mufti lost the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat to National Conference’s Justice (retd) Hasnain Masoodi by nearly 10,000 votes. Masoodi, who was fighting his maiden electoral battle, polled 40,180 votes, while Mehbooba secured 30,524 votes, officials said.

Actor and BJP candidate Sunny Deol Thursday won his electoral debut by defeating Congress heavyweight and sitting MP Sunil Jakhar from the Gurdaspur constituency. Deol defeated Punjab Congress chief Jakhar by a margin of 82,459 votes, the Election Commission’s website said.

Union Minister Maneka Gandhi won from Sultanpur seat defeating nearest rival BSP candidate Chandra Bhadra Singh Sonu by over 14,000 votes. Maneka had faced backlash for her remark that she won’t provide job to Muslims if they don’t vote for her. She was barred from campaigning for two days by the Election Commission over the remark.

Senior Congress leader and the Leader of Opposition in Parliament Mallikarjun Kharge lost the Lok Sabha Elections from Gulbarga to BJP’s Umesh Jadhav.