Udhampur, Reasi Sport Climbing meet held

Winners of District Udhampur Sport Climbing meet pose with chief guest at Sprawling Buds ICSE School Bantalab in Jammu on Sunday


JAMMU, May 26: Continuing its thrust to complete all the district competitions and then to conduct a regular coaching camp prior to the IMF All India Climbing Competitions, Mountaineering Association of J&K (MAJK) conducted Udhampur and Reasi District Sport Climbing competitions at Sprawling Buds ICSE School, here today.

Earlier, about 70 budding climbers of Udhampur district participated in the day-long competition which was conducted only in four categories of Mini Boys and Girls, Sub Junior Boys and Sub Junior Girls categories whereas district Reasi was represented by 45 young Climbers.

“It was the second and third competition to be organized at Jammu as the Association had conducted Jammu District competition earlier on May three. Samba and Kathua district competitions are also due to be conducted shortly,” informed general secretary of MAJK, Ram Khajuria.

Since many climbers were participating in their maiden competition the competitions were conducted on ‘top rope’ to make them feel safe and secure.

The competitions were conducted under the supervision of Shawetica Khajuria, a national judge in Sport Climbing and Joint Secretary of MAJK. Whereas Shilpa Charak, Ajay Deep Singh, Vishali Sharma and Arun Deep Singh were the Route Setters cum Belayers of the competition, Deeipika Dutta was Judge of the competition.

Manage J&K State Sports Council, Iqbal Singh was chief guest, who along with Chairman of the host’s Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Rahul Sharma distributed presented medals to those position holders. of the Udhampur district competition. Prominent among others present included Ram Khajuria, (general secretary) and Yogeshwar Kumar (vice president) of MAJK.

Meanwhile, semifinals rounds of the competitions were in progress in respect of Reasi District meet when the last reports came in.

The Results:

District Udhampur: Mini Boys: Abhinav Sharma, Ist;  Anoop Singh, 2nd and Akshit, 3rd. Mini Girls: Roopali Thakur, Ist; Shivali Thakur, 2nd and Dhriti Sharma, 3rd. Sub Junior Boys: Saksham Mahajan, Ist; Harsh Pir, 2nd and Kishore Dev Singh, 3rd. Sub Junior Girls: Risha Devi, Ist; Mehak Bandral, 2nd and Vanshika, 3rd.